Technology readiness level

Technology readiness levels are a method for estimating the maturity of technologies during the acquisition phase of a program. TRLs enable consistent and uniform discussions of technical maturity across different types of technology. TRL is determined during a technology readiness assessment that examines program concepts, technology requirements, and demonstrated technology capabilities. TRLs are based on a scale from 1 to 9 with 9 being the most mature technology. TRL was developed at NASA during the 1970s. The US Department of Defense has used the scale for procurement since the early 2000s. By 2008 the scale was also in use at the European Space Agency. The European Commission advised EU-funded research and innovation projects to adopt the scale in 2010. TRLs were consequently used in 2014 in the EU Horizon 2020 program. In 2013, the TRL scale was further canonized by the International Organization for Standardization with the publication of the ISO 16290:2013 standard.

Technology transfer - Technology transfer, also called transfer of technology, is the process of transferring technology from the person or organization that owns or holds it to another person or organization, in an attempt to transform inventions and scientific outcomes into new products and services that benefit...
Technology assessment - Technology assessment is a scientific, interactive, and communicative process that aims to contribute to the formation of public and political opinion on societal aspects of science and technology.
Technology life cycle - The technology life-cycle describes the commercial gain of a product through the expense of research and development phase, and the financial return during its "vital life".
Manufacturing Readiness Level - Manufacturing Readiness Level is a measure developed by the United States Department of Defense to assess the maturity of manufacturing readiness, similar to how Technology Readiness Levels are used for technology readiness.
Capability Maturity Model Integration - Capability Maturity Model Integration is a process level improvement training and appraisal program. Administered by the CMMI Institute, a subsidiary of ISACA, it was developed at Carnegie Mellon University. It is required by many U.S. Government contracts, especially in software development.
Open Innovation - Open innovation is a term used to promote an information age mindset toward innovation that runs counter to the secrecy and silo mentality of traditional corporate research labs.
Technology assessment
Technology transfer
Get all relevant Technology Readiness Level videos

Powered by