Independence Day (India)

Independence Day is celebrated annually on 15 August as a public holiday in India commemorating the nation's independence from the United Kingdom on 15 August 1947, the day when the provisions of the Indian Independence Act, which transferred legislative sovereignty to the Indian Constituent Assembly, came into effect. India retained King George VI as head of state until its transition to a republic, when the Constitution of India came into effect on 26 January 1950 and replaced the dominion prefix, Dominion of India, with the enactment of the sovereign law Constitution of India. India attained independence following the independence movement noted for largely non-violent resistance and civil disobedience.

Partition Horrors Remembrance Day - Partition Horrors Remembrance Day is a national memorial day in India on 14 August, first declared by prime minister Narendra Modi in 2021, that commemorates the victims and sufferings of people during the partition of India. The day remembers the sufferings of many Indians during the partition.
History of India - According to consensus in modern genetics, anatomically modern humans first arrived on the Indian subcontinent from Africa between 73,000 and 55,000 years ago. However, the earliest known human remains in South Asia date to 30,000 years ago.
75th Year of Independence Day of India - 75th Year of Independence Day of India or Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav is an upcoming event, in which the 75th Year of Independence of India to be celebrated in India on 15 August 2022.
Public holidays in India
Observances in India
Independence days
August observances
Indian independence movement
History of India
Get all relevant Independence Day India videos

Powered by