Milwaukee Bucks


Milwaukee Bucks on topic

Milwaukee Bucks
The Milwaukee Bucks are an American professional basketball franchise based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The Bucks compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member club of the league's Eastern Conference Central Division. The team was founded in 1968 as an expansion team, and play at the Bradley Center. Former U.S. Senator Herb Kohl was the long-time owner of the team, but on April 16, 2014, a group led by billionaire hedge fund managers Wesley Edens and Marc Lasry agreed to purchase a majority interest in the team from Kohl, a sale which was approved by the owners of the NBA and its Board of Governors one month later on May 16. The team was previously run by Orlando's newly-hired General Manager, John Hammond, who left Milwaukee in May of 2017 after accepting a long-term contract offer in Orlando. Following Hammond's departure, the Bucks owners began their search for a replacement, interviewing numerous outside candidates for the team's top spot, none of whom were selected for the job. Finally, on June 16, 2017, one week from the 2017 draft, the Bucks owners named 34-year-old Jon Horst, the team's Director of Basketball Operations from 2008 to 2017, as the new General Manager, a decision that stunned Bucks fans and took NBA strategists by surprise. With Horst currently holding the reins, the team is currently valued at $675 million according to Forbes, ranking fourth-to-last in the league. The Bucks have won one league title (1971), two conference titles (1971 and 1974), and 13 division titles (1971–74, 1976, 1980–86, 2001). They have featured such notable players as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Sidney Moncrief, Oscar Robertson, Bob Dandridge, Bob Lanier, Glenn "Big Dog" Robinson, Ray Allen, Sam Cassell, Junior Bridgeman, Michael Redd, Terry Cummings, Vin Baker, Jon McGlocklin, Marques Johnson, and Brian Winters.


comments powered by Disqus